Don't shoot the trespasser!

From Pintails to Mallards, share your Montana duck hunting stories here in the land of the Big Sky country.

Moderator: Lawdog

Don't shoot the trespasser!

Postby PinTeal » Thu Sep 14, 2006 12:17 am

Howdy all. I am a moderator over at the California forum (ugh...God forbid), but before all of you pull out your guns, trust me when I say I think I hate it more than you guys. I am a complete country boy, and hate the city and the concrete.

I am 23 years old and have been here my entire life. Grew up in Southern California and went to Nor. Cal for college. I graduated last December from Sacramento State and now want to go to Law School. My main interest is in Montana and the University in Missoula. I do have some questions for some of you guys though, if you're willing to be kind enough to answer. What is the job market up there like? How about housing? I cannot afford to buy a house, so renting is my option, albeit house or apartment. What does the typical place rent for up there?

Thanks a lot guys.

Jeff Given
PinTeal
State Moderator

Postby HaydenHunter » Thu Sep 14, 2006 7:48 am

I am in Missoula frequently on business. Hearing from my customers, there is a shortage of good people to hire. Yes, there are thousands of college students, but... I guess that means that one could find a job while going to school there. It might be retail, but...

I would suggest looking in the online version of the Missoula newspaper for both job listings and rentals. That should give you a real idea.

As a town, Missoula is getting big. Nowhere near Sacramento in terms of traffic, crime, etc., but big by Montana standards.

There are places to waterfowl hunt if you have time and are willing to drive 1 to 2 hours. But you are probably doing that in California to hunt overcrowded land (or paying for a lease). You won't have the bird concentration in MT that you have at the Sac Refuge System, but less (or un)crowded hunts reward those who put in the effort.