New to the forum

From Pintails to Mallards, share your Montana duck hunting stories here in the land of the Big Sky country.

Moderator: Lawdog

New to the forum

Postby kdangerfield » Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:15 am

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to Montana and have been viewing this site for a while but this is my first post. I have been an avid waterfowl hunter for about 6 years and hope to contribute to this site as much as possible.

Here is a quick bio, sorry for the long post: My wife and I moved to Bozeman from Utah earlier this year, we have family from here. My wife works at Montana State University and I am a freelance artist. I do mostly wildlife and landscape paintings and am greatly inspired by the vast outdoor opportunities in this great state. I am just getting started as a full-time artist so there are a lot more waterfowl paintings to come.

Anyway, I have a couple of broad questions. The first is regarding the general habits of ducks and geese. I have been scouting a lot lately and have been watching a private pond in the area. The pond holds tons of ducks and geese but is closed to hunting. I have noticed that in the evening all of the ducks and geese leave the pond and fly elsewhere. In general, where do ducks and geese prefer to spend the night? It seems to me that they would stay in the safety of this pond, but they are heading elsewhere for the night. Do they prefer fields or rivers, or are they possibly migrating?

Also, for anyone familiar with the Bozeman/Belgrade area. Is there some type of city boundary inside which shooting is not allowed. I know that you can't shoot within 1/4 mile of any inhabited structure but there are plenty of places really close to the towns that you can get 1/4 mile away. I ask because I my have access to some private land but it is pretty close to town.

Thanks for any help or suggestions you my be able to give.
Kelly Dangerfield
Wildlife and Landscape Artist
Bozeman, MT
kdangerfield
hunter