well that sucked

A place to share stories, tips and reports on Nebraska duck hunting.

Moderators: gotduck68415, k9horseluvr, Duck Runner

well that sucked

Postby TEAM WEBFOOTPOSSE » Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:09 pm

just got back from a hunt on the loup river group pulled up missed teal then we pulled up on a big flock of woodies and knocked down three but the current was so fast we could only get one of em so opening day this year has been a barn burner
waterfowler20 wrote:
getemducks wrote:I am new to this but I think what you have there is a duck. :huh:

Are you crazy! That ain't no duck, thats one of'dem cackler gooses! :hi:
TEAM WEBFOOTPOSSE
hunter

Postby waterfowler81 » Sat Oct 11, 2008 5:27 pm

Well, I had to work today, so at least you got out.
waterfowler81
hunter

Postby slakline » Sat Oct 11, 2008 6:29 pm

Man ...I've got to say losing 2 out of 3 woodies is a real heartbreaker. A waste in my book. You've got to set up in a way that you are able to recover those downed birds. Dog or no dog we now, based on similar experiences to yours, always position ourselves or someone to recover down birds in a river. That's your responsiblity to recover those birds. Obviously, you probably already know that those birds count toward your daily bag limit, but that doesn't make it an acceptable loss. We've gone as far as bringing with us a landing net used in fishing with a long collapsable pole to recover birds in fast moving currents.
I'm not chewing you out on this...just cluing you in on what we do to increase our retrieves. We still ocassionally lose a bird(maybe 2 or 3 a season) to cover or sailing, but we always give it our best effort to plan our retrievals according the environmental situation.
Your experience is a learning one, that hopefully you prepare for in the future. Especially, if that bird is wearing a band. :eek:
slakline
hunter

Postby Ducxprt » Sat Oct 11, 2008 6:35 pm