Choke suggestion for boys first shotgun

Nevada’s wide open spaces provide great hunting opportunities. From Sprg to Snow Geese. Discuss here in the Nevada duck hunting forum.

Moderators: NV Guide, Old Duck Getter

Choke suggestion for boys first shotgun

Postby RealityKingpin » Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:48 am

I just bought my 12 yr old son a rem 870 jr compact 20 guage. He is getting set to hunt the youth hunt for duck and I have no experience with the 20 gauges , particularly from this small of a gun. It came with the factory mod of course. Any load choke combos you would suggest just to get started? He is small for his age but handling the gun fairly well.

P
RealityKingpin
hunter

Re: Choke suggestion for boys first shotgun

Postby Pinny1995 » Sat Sep 15, 2012 4:57 pm

Improved or modified
Pinny1995
hunter

Postby dieselduck » Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:39 pm

For early season I would suggest improved cylinder with 3" 3 or 4. You'll have to pattern the gun to see what loads it likes. The wider the lethal shot pattern you can get the better for a youngster. May have to step up to a modified later in the season or if your getting a lot of cripples.
dieselduck
hunter

Postby RealityKingpin » Mon Sep 17, 2012 8:00 pm

Sounds good.... Gunna get a couple boxes n start testing.....
RealityKingpin
hunter

Postby Goosecrazy » Tue Sep 18, 2012 4:17 pm

Improved cylinder. :thumbsup:
Goosecrazy
hunter

Postby A5Mag » Tue Sep 18, 2012 10:41 pm

Unless the factory choke tube is stamped "Modified Steel Shot", steel hot constriction for "Factory Mod" will likely be equivalent to full choke.

Improved cylinder choke with smaller shot size=less restriction=less recoil=less flinch. I even tried to purchase the cylinder choke for my son's shotgun several years ago.