New hunter Want to learn

Nevada’s wide open spaces provide great hunting opportunities. From Sprg to Snow Geese. Discuss here in the Nevada duck hunting forum.

Moderators: NV Guide, Old Duck Getter

New hunter Want to learn

Postby 07yzryder » Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:16 pm

Hi guys, im new to vegas and duck hunting. I have been dove quial and chuckar hunting in the past but after learning there are ducks in the area i figure i would test the waters and get some knolwedge about it.

I have been reading and noticed that a noob can ruin the day for all the other hunters if they arent smart about taking their shots so i wanted to get a bit of info before heading out. On that note, what is the distance they would need to be before my shots are effective? I know i wont take shots that are extremely long but i know with dove i can take 50 - 60 yard shots sometimes with effect (ducks being bigger im guessing that may be pushing it)

What gear is essential to a successful hunt? I have camo waders and a mossberg 835 (would like suggestions on shot size and chokes). As far as decoys and calls go im familiar with the technique to blow on calls from coyote hunting but would obviously need to learn patterns for the call, which calls and decoys would be suggested for hunting overton?

Thanks in advance.
Robert
07yzryder
hunter

Re: New hunter Want to learn

Postby Tyrtruion » Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:28 am

50-60 Yds works fine with lead...
But you have to use a non toxic. If you're rich, get some kent tungsten matrix. If you're in the "ain't rich" category get some cheap Winchester super X hv steel. I use 3" 1.25oz #3 shot with a light modified choke.
I try to not shoot anything past 40 Yds and I pace off a decoy that far to use as a range finder.
My first year I didn't even take a call
My second year I didn't ever blow it

Best way to learn is to get out there and do it. Good luck :thumbsup: