Upper Valley

If you are a migratory bird hunter, share your New Hampshire duck hunting tactics here.

Moderators: JustinNH, Ross R

Upper Valley

Postby okieinnewengland » Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:47 am

I am relatively new to the Upper Valley and to water-fowling. I would like to pick you all's brains about potential places to scout for next season. I have plans to scout **edited my mod** (the east portion is on the WMA) and ***edited by mod** pond. Any thoughts? Also, I have never done any goose hunting. Where would be a good opportunity to get into new england goose hunting? Looking forward to hearing from you all.
Last edited by JustinNH on Wed Feb 15, 2012 3:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: removed locations
okieinnewengland
hunter

Re: Upper Valley

Postby JustinNH » Wed Feb 15, 2012 3:37 pm

:welcome: to the forum!

Talking about specific spots is a general "no-no" here. We have a great group of people who visit and communicate often, but there are also hundreds who just view. Naming a spot is a sure way to have others visiting you OR bringing in new people to someone else's honey hole. We just had this happen a few months ago with a spot.

I edited your post to help you and anyone who potentially hunts those spots.

Best way to see if a spot is good is to check it and check it often. All times of the day and all times of the year (although spring can be misleading... many places have birds (especially noticed with geese, at least for me) int he spring and none in the summer/fall as they all moved on.

The best way to find out is to scout. Scout in the summer, scout right before the season, always scout. Google earth is your friend.
There are lots of places to duck hunt here, but sometimes finding a spot with a limit every time can take a lot of work.