New to NH and duck hunting

If you are a migratory bird hunter, share your New Hampshire duck hunting tactics here.

Moderators: JustinNH, Ross R

New to NH and duck hunting

Postby bs6440 » Sun Nov 03, 2013 9:45 am

I just moved to NH (Dover area) from a state where hunting is not all that welcomed. I am trying to learn about duck hunting but can't find guides, etc. Do any of you have any recommendations? How did you learn to duck hunt? Thanks in advance.
bs6440
Newb

Re: New to NH and duck hunting

Postby JustinNH » Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:22 pm

Welcome to the forum and to NH!

I don't really hear about waterfowl guides in NH. I am sure there are some, but ME, MA, RI all seem to have more on that front. There may be some sea duck guides, but as with above, most are not in NH.

As you know, NH is pretty hunter friendly, but we are far from the duck capital of the flyway. Lots of spots to hunt but scouting (and lots of scouting) is what helps.

I am self taught. My dad/grandfather taught me fishing but waterfowling is 100% me. Reading the forums helps, but going out and trying things is the only real way. Hours on google earth scouting spots, hours driving and gallons of gas scouting. It pays off.... sometimes... :beer:
JustinNH
State Moderator

Postby bs6440 » Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:02 pm

Fair enough. Any advice on decoy (which brands), rigging advice, etc. Looking to learn from other's mistakes and experiences
bs6440
Newb

Postby JustinNH » Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:00 pm

I have had just as much luck with cheap decoys compared to mid range ones, so it depends on how much ypu want to spend. I have had good luck with mojos too.

decoy weights depends on where you hunt. 4 oz works fine most of the time. I like the strap weights.

Bring decoys for the what you have been seeing there AND what you expect. I can't tell you how many times I left or forgot goose decoys only to have them come by that morning.
JustinNH
State Moderator