New member....lots of questions.....

If you are a migratory bird hunter, share your New Hampshire duck hunting tactics here.

Moderators: Ross R, JustinNH

New member....lots of questions.....

Postby rick57nh » Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:13 am

Hey guys new to the forum have browsed here one and off for a while and thought I'd finally join some people that share the same addiction! Hhaha. I'm from the seacoast area and have been duck hunting for a few years now. It's great to see other guys out there having great seasons! I guess my biggest question would be what do I need to get started sea duck hunting? I have a canoe now thati hunt the various marshes with around the seacoast but have always awed at you guys out there among the rocks. I'm still a newbie as this is my 4th doing waterfowl. I'm looking more toward next season and wanted to cash in on the deals that can be bad as the season closes or maybe even make some new friends to hunt with as I'm usually alone. Any help will be appreciated! Hope you guys have a great rest of the season
rick57nh
hunter

Re: New member....lots of questions.....

Postby JustinNH » Thu Dec 05, 2013 12:49 pm

Welcome to the forum!

I bought a cheap boat last year (16 footer) and spent the summer fixing it up and rigging it all up. If you have the $ and space, go with a larger boat-- 2 people, gear and 3 dozen decoys fills up the boat quickly!

besides that, I bought 2 dozen eider decoys, a dozen oldsquaw, and painted 1 or 2 dozen scoters myself. Rigged up on a longline and stored in 12 slot bags (saves a lot of time clipping) and works very nicely and quick.
JustinNH
State Moderator

Postby rick57nh » Thu Dec 05, 2013 2:29 pm