publiic land goose hunting in south Jersey

A state with an abundant amount of waterfowl. Share with others your New Jersey duck hunting experiences.

Moderators: crewchief252, johnboy07

publiic land goose hunting in south Jersey

Postby flinthunter » Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:13 am

Hi all
I am new to hunting duck/geese. This was my first year. Im trying to find public ground to hunt on. I have found a few but others also hunt there as wall and Im trying to find as meny as i can for the simple fact that it is public. Eny other help is also great I am new(not educated in waterfowl hunting).
Thanks all
Rick
flinthunter
hunter

Postby Rowdy » Wed Feb 08, 2006 8:26 am

that is one of the biggest problems in south jersey.
bottom line if its public land be there early to secure your place. also dont be afraid to possibly join the groups of hunters hunting the same fields i have met alot of great friends that way (i have also run into a few jerks) one thing to do is get permission from the local farmers to hunt their fields (make sure you get it in writing and carry it with you in your blind bag) alot of the farmers would be happy for someone to take the geese off their fields. (whats the worst thats gonna happen they say no..)
Rowdy
hunter

Postby flinthunter » Wed Feb 08, 2006 11:29 am

Thanks for the advice. Youd be suprised at how meny people say no I got over the no thing quick. Still trying though. I hunt alone so I would be happy to share a feild with enyone to be honest about it. An older freind got a DU hunt and I was hooked. So enyone with adivse or help, I would love to talk to or hunt with.
thanks
Rick
flinthunter
hunter

Postby Rowdy » Wed Feb 08, 2006 12:42 pm

i hear ya i know alot of guys in South Jersey and most of em do the group thing. its nice cause one person dosnt need all the gear etc.
Rowdy
hunter

Postby flinthunter » Wed Feb 08, 2006 11:06 pm