Looking for NJ Duck Hunting

A state with an abundant amount of waterfowl. Share with others your New Jersey duck hunting experiences.

Moderators: crewchief252, johnboy07

Looking for NJ Duck Hunting

Postby Chester2011 » Mon Sep 03, 2012 7:00 pm

Hi All,

I am new to the DHC forum, so I apologize if I'm entering this in the wrong place, or asking questions that have been asked a dozen times. If I should be someplace else I would appreciate any guidance. Thanks.

I'm a long time hunter from upstate NY and Michigan and I'm looking for a couple of good duck hunting locations in NJ. I know, stupid question and I don't expect anyone to share their sweet spots, but any help would be very much welcome. I live in the Princeton area, but am willing to travel as needed to the to the ducks. I've got my own equipment including a new 16 month old pup who just flew through his Juniors and is working on his Seniors. I do mostly shoreline and field, but I would also be interested in any boat recommendations.

I've been researching the Assunpink and Coller Mills WMA's for archery and ducks, but if anyone can share any recommendations I'd greatly appreciate it. Also, if anyone wants a partner on a trip I'd be happy to pitch in what I can.

Thanks for any help in advance!!
Chester2011
Newb

Re: Looking for NJ Duck Hunting

Postby TigerMTSirius » Wed Sep 12, 2012 7:33 pm

I am seeing lots of ducks on state wma along railroad tracks up here in Sussex County.
TigerMTSirius
Newb

Postby ithaca10 » Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:00 am

I'm up north but i would attend your local organizations meetings and maybe team up with some people, check all your WMA's, State Parks etc. Barnegat Bay and Raritan Bay good choices. Also speak with your local CO's they are a wealth of info.
Proud Father of a United States Marine
ithaca10
hunter

Postby papageno » Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:06 am