Barnaget Bay/Saturday Afternoon

A state with an abundant amount of waterfowl. Share with others your New Jersey duck hunting experiences.

Moderators: crewchief252, johnboy07

Barnaget Bay/Saturday Afternoon

Postby jerseywaterfowler » Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:05 pm

Went south to the big bay for a Saturday afternoon hunt with oldest son. We both enjoy the big wide open marsh, mud, smell and the open water. There is no mud like B/B mud, suck your waders off in a NY second.
As far as hunting went, saw very little, a few blacks that barely moved, not much on the open water. No shots no ducks. Enjoyable anyway.
Fitz
jerseywaterfowler
hunter

Re: Barnaget Bay/Saturday Afternoon

Postby RustyGunz1960 » Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:11 am

I hear ya. I spent my first 25 years in the urban northern part of the state. The last 25 have been spent in "duck heaven" and I still appreciate the bay as if it's my first time. I enjoy a day I where don't fire a shot every bit as much as I do one I limit out on.
RustyGunz1960
hunter

Postby FowlHooked » Mon Jan 14, 2013 12:47 pm

Try some Mad Horse Creek mud on, i think it goes clear thru to center of earth! Prehistoric s##t that will suck u rt in :help:
Fowl Hooked Waterfowling on Facebook
http://Www.fowlhooked.org
FowlHooked
hunter

Postby Quackerbarrel » Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:15 pm

Watch out for the sunken wall to the right of the ramp at Mad Horse, boy is it a day ruiner!
Quackerbarrel
hunter

Postby jerseywaterfowler » Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:47 pm

Mad horse, I have not hunted that far south. Do you need a boat or can you walk/hump in? will a canoe work? I have put in my canoe in the Basto and Mullica and if Mad horse is similar its a possibility for next year. Pine barrons are sand, not mud and with all the back flooded areas can be good for puddles or even a woodie.
Fitz
jerseywaterfowler
hunter

Postby Quackerbarrel » Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:54 pm

I would not hunt Mad Horse out of a canoe, it's deep and has a very rough tide.
Quackerbarrel
hunter