New to NM

This forum is where New Mexico duck hunting is discussed. Read others posts and share your thoughts here.

Moderators: ghostingrey, randy marci, quackadikt

New to NM

Postby mrbillybob10 » Mon Aug 09, 2010 10:36 am

Hello,

I am new to NM and would like some general info on where to hunt. I'm not asking for you to give up your honey holes, but i would like some general areas where i can find water. I live in Hobbs, NM and dont want to travel more than 150 miles if i dont have to. I have heard there is a wildlife refuge near roswell, NM. Are there any hunting areas near that?
Even a bad cookie is better than no cookie at all.
mrbillybob10
hunter

Re: New to NM

Postby nmduckboy » Mon Aug 09, 2010 10:53 am

mrbillybob10 wrote:I live in Hobbs, NM and dont want to travel more than 150 miles if i dont have to. I have heard there is a wildlife refuge near roswell, NM. Are there any hunting areas near that?

mrbillybob10,
Let me be the first to welcome you to NM :welcome:

Being from Alb, I've never had an opportunity to hunt in the southeast part of the state. But there are 2 Wildlife Managment Areas (WMAs) down there that allow waterfowl hunting: Brantley Wildlife Area near Roswell and Seven Rivers Waterfowl Area near Carlsbad. Go to this webpage: http://www.wildlife.state.nm.us/conserv ... /index.htm
It is the index for all the WMAs mananged by NMDGF. There are links to the above mentioned places in the Southeast section and it will open .pdf files that have a little extra info with maps.

Sorry I can't be of more help. But I'm sure someone will come along on the forum that lives in that part of the state that could help you out more than I. If you ever get an itchin' to hunt up here, post again and we'll point you in the right direction. Have a great season and :hammer: some birds!
ADHD -- Avid Duck Hunting Disorder
nmduckboy
hunter

Postby mrbillybob10 » Mon Aug 09, 2010 11:25 am

Thank you nmduckboy! I really appreciate the info.