Sierra County Ducks

This forum is where New Mexico duck hunting is discussed. Read others posts and share your thoughts here.

Moderators: quackadikt, randy marci, ghostingrey

Sierra County Ducks

Postby sierraducks » Tue Nov 15, 2011 5:29 pm

Long time reader, first time poster to the forum. Hoping you guys could give me a little advice.

Im going to try my luck along the river from north of Elephant Butte on down south of Caballo. Any advice on what should be in my spread and how its arranged? Im guessing Mallards and Widgeons, but Im still a rookie and would appreaciate any advice you had. Any other tips on how to hunt the river would be great as well! Appreciate the help
sierraducks
Newb

Re: Sierra County Ducks

Postby StevenL » Tue Nov 15, 2011 6:11 pm

Data furnished by the Army Corps of Engineers indicates flow rate of 2.5 cubic feet per second below Elephant Butte for the past three days. Data for flow below Caballo shows NONE. Data for the Rio Grande below the San Marcial Floodway shows wild fluctuation the past 4 days between 400 and 800 cfs. Looks to me there's much more flow above EB.
StevenL
hunter

Postby PeterJarmo » Tue Nov 15, 2011 9:19 pm

I don't have any experience down there but I'd like to try at some point. One thing I have heard though is that there is some real nasty quick sand down there north of elephant butte so be extra careful wading around in there... I've heard first hand from some ol' timer hunters of close calls, they've pretty much told me to stay away unless i had some boat with a mud motor. (Otherwise you're going to have to push along with a stick like a Venice boat guide(from what i've heard)...
Don't mean to discourage you, just be careful of that quick sand, thats the worst part of the river in the state from what I understand....