Vegas Goose

This forum is where New Mexico duck hunting is discussed. Read others posts and share your thoughts here.

Moderators: randy marci, ghostingrey, quackadikt

Vegas Goose

Postby flatiron » Mon Nov 26, 2007 3:19 pm

I drew a Canada goose permit for the Las Vegas Wildlife refuge next month. Anybody ever hunt there before? Its apparently a field hunt from a pit blind, but thats all I know. I'm a ducker and opportunistic gooser, but I've never tried to hunt Canada's in a field before.
flatiron
hunter

Postby ghostingrey » Mon Nov 26, 2007 5:04 pm

Never hunted geese there but I did talk to their resiurce management specilaist a bit about it one day. He said it could be hit or miss but there was almost at least some action. I also think they have loaner decoys available. Good luck, let us know how it turns out.
ghostingrey
State Moderator

Postby Dirt » Mon Nov 26, 2007 7:19 pm

My experience was not good. I borrowed some decoys they
offer. A coyote attacked one and ruined it. Cost me 20 bucks.
Three of us never took a shot. Just like the Bosque del Apache
snow goose hunts. Very few birds are taken.
Dirt
hunter

Postby Escopeton » Mon Nov 26, 2007 9:52 pm

I have hunted there before, and as with all WMA hunts it can be feast or famine. They supply a couple of dozen decoys - the poor decoys have seen too many seasons.

You hunt from a pit blind on a field selected by a drawing. If you have good decoys, bring them to add to the loaner spread.

Good luck and wish I was there.
Living large in the southwest.
Escopeton
hunter

Postby randy marci » Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:01 pm