Duck Hunting Forum banner

Duck Hunting Newbie

3K views 16 replies 10 participants last post by  cshort 
#1 ·
Hey guys, I'm a newbie to Duck Hunting. Went for years as a kid with my dad, I've hunted Elk, Deer and Turkey.
Been out once (last year) with a brother-in-law in Utah, loved it and want to get into it here in NM.
Looking for some guidance on etiquette, locations, times of day/year, etc. like I said total newb, and don't want to offend
Or step on toes. Looks like this is the board to be in.

Hope to hear from you all.

#6 ·
It would be wise to know a couple spots to hunt, but come summer time the rio is gonna drop a lot, then when the water comes back in the beginning of October is when you need to find places to go. Not sure about maps about the river, need to buy a gate key from MRGCD.

#8 ·
Don't crowd people. If you think you're too close to them, you are.

Don't shoot birds traveling in the stratosphere.

I've never been up there, but there's probably zero need to build an actual blind. Cut some limbs if you think you need more cover.

Pick up your trash.

#11 ·
I agree with the above statements regarding "blinds". For several reasons you do not want to invest a lot of effort into building a "permanent" structure. One reason is you are advertising your spot. Another reason is you might find out it sucks and you need to move. As others have stated, there is no reason to crowd, you should never be closer than 1/4 mile, preferably further. And have a plan B & C if someone is in "your" spot. Also a good idea to have a plan B or C because of water flow, duck patterns, etc.