new to the site!!!

New York goose hunting and duck hunting. This is the place to discuss it all.

Moderators: 870, DukBum

new to the site!!!

Postby rob638 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:19 pm

hello every one i feel i should say hello i am new to this sight as far as becomeing a member but have been on hear looking for a long time about 3 years since ive been bit with the waterfowling bug any way here is the deal i live on the south shore of longisland freeport my good friend hunting mentor lives up state and hunts up there i love it but am looking to get into something closer i feel like i live so close to good hunting but am afraid to take the leap i enjoy the do it yourself type of hunt best have a dozen mallard deeks waders a gun am intrested in geting a boat but am weary of takeing that next step because ive never really got out in the local
marsh and back bays of longisland was just wondering could i lauch ot of freeport or lido with say a 14ft boat and be okay most of all just wanred to say hi and i am hopeing to get to meet some local duck hunters here
rob638
Newb

Re: new to the site!!!

Postby sssurfertim » Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:25 pm

Welcome to the site, best advise to learning the bay is to go out a lot in the summer and get to know all of the marked channels and imprint them in your mind ( or GPS ) because there are no marked channals during the season. Lots of nice duckboats for sale on craigslist right now. And go easy on the poor buffleheads :hammer:
No island leaft for Islanders like me.
sssurfertim
hunter

Postby Slack Tide » Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:44 am

I grew up in Freeport and have hunted that area. You are right, it is a big investment of time and money. With spring close, I would get yourself a kyack and get down to the bay. Step one is just getting out there. Go walk around, paddle around. Watch the tides, birds etc....I wouldn't just go broke buying a boat and bunch of gear and just wing it.