Diver ducks on the Hudson River?

New York goose hunting and duck hunting. This is the place to discuss it all.

Moderators: DukBum, 870

Diver ducks on the Hudson River?

Postby hudson river drake » Thu Feb 08, 2007 2:09 pm

Im new to duck hunting the hudson river. After the second season i heard about some people getting bluebill, ringnecks,and some other diver ducks. I was just woundering if anyone targets divers on the hudson? and if so what would be the best setup for puddle ducks and divers on the river?
Thanks for the info
hudson river drake
hunter

Postby 870 » Thu Feb 08, 2007 3:54 pm

:welcome: hudson river drake glad to see your with us here on DHC

I haven't hunted down there thats a tad south of where I live. :smile:

Are you finding where they roost or feed? If so I'd layout near their feed spots or on a point in between the two.

The Hudson is kind of narrow isn't it, I don't know please set set me straight? :oops:

Do you have longlines or do you just use singles or both at the same time?

What I've found what works best for me when I'm hunting both P/D is to set my Puddlers as the lower end of my J-hook or the pocket.

I then mix my diver singles in with my puddlers and complete my J-hook pocket. I then start to run my longlines divers out as need be.

I like to place my boat on the longline side of my J-hook weather this is set up next to shore or out in big water.

Keep in mind divers don't like to land facing the shoreline they will flair and not commit if your set up this way. They perfer to land facing open water. So if your hunting on shore or next to it make sure where your pocket is, it should be facing either up or down river or out towards open water.

If hunting from shore or boat I like to have my longline side be the side I hunt from. You don't want to make it look like your pinching the divers between your spread and shore or boat.