Raleigh Hunting

This is the North Carolina duck hunting forum. A place to discuss duck hunting in North Carolina and other waterfowl.

Moderators: stumpjumper, fowl_wishes, NCSUDucker

Raleigh Hunting

Postby slowgo » Sat Jul 15, 2006 7:37 pm

Im a student here in Raleigh and Im wanting to bring my boat up to hunt this year instead of going home all the time. Is it worth it? I have no idea where to hunt, or where you can hunt. I've got a 20hp MB Longtail on a 14ft jon so gettin to places isnt an issue, at least small water. Just let me know whats out there, lakes, swamp, flats whatever you can hunt.
slowgo
hunter

Postby KAhunter » Sun Jul 16, 2006 10:21 am

i go to state as well... havent done much hunting around raleigh, i usually hike out to the coast... Its alot of work and alot of scouting with minimal results usually... I havent ever put as much time as i should around here cause the few times i have its just not worth the time... to many other hunters and usually your great spot is the great spot for alot of other people... But there are a few lakes with 30 minutes of state that you can hunt and some impoundments... good luck
"If you have to be crazy to be a duck hunter, i dont wish to be sane" Robert Ruark

Its always duck season, there is just a long break from february to september.
KAhunter
hunter

Postby slowgo » Sun Jul 16, 2006 2:29 pm

What are the lakes/rivers within 30 minutes? Just need some names and locations of places to hunt, I'll do all the research as far as if there are birds there or not. I could care less about "taking over" someones hot spot, Im just looking for a body of water I can hunt in.
slowgo
hunter

Postby NCSUDucker » Sun Jul 16, 2006 2:32 pm