Another Duck Hunting newbie

This is the North Carolina duck hunting forum. A place to discuss duck hunting in North Carolina and other waterfowl.

Moderators: stumpjumper, fowl_wishes, NCSUDucker

Another Duck Hunting newbie

Postby Outa Square » Mon Dec 23, 2013 3:14 pm

I am just getting started duck hunting. I had a buddy take me goose hunting this past September and now I am a duck hunting junkie. Unfortunately, my buddy has friend whose family has access to an impoundment but he isn't able to bring a guest or so he says; and I don't know another duck hunter. So I am learning on my own. I am blessed to have access to a fairly good size piece of land that has frontage on the Catawba River and a large creek. I have seen albeit just a few, mallards, Canada geese, and wood ducks. What other ducks would I expect to see here in western NC? I saw a white duck with a green head Saturday could that have been a common merganser? Based on what I read it doesn't seem possible. Thanks for your help.

Also do you know of any DU or Delta Waterfowl chapters in the Greater Hickory/Lenoir/Morganton/Lincolnton.
Outa Square
Newb

Re: Another Duck Hunting newbie

Postby Dingbatter 2 » Mon Dec 23, 2013 6:27 pm

Those are your common ducks. Maybe a few gadwall now and then. Have fun and learn as you go. Remember to pick your shots and don't skybust, watch the birds and learn from them and don't over hunt the place. And keep your mouth shut. :thumbsup:
"When I get to heaven, tie me to a tree
For I'll begin to roam and soon you'll know where I will be..."
Dingbatter 2
hunter

Postby Doubleplay » Tue Dec 24, 2013 11:15 am

What he said ^^^^^^^^ and
GOOD LUCK
Doubleplay
hunter

Postby Benshook78 » Wed Jan 01, 2014 3:29 pm