Onslow/ Jacksonville area

This is the North Carolina duck hunting forum. A place to discuss duck hunting in North Carolina and other waterfowl.

Moderators: stumpjumper, fowl_wishes, NCSUDucker

Onslow/ Jacksonville area

Postby Bluesky2012 » Wed Jan 08, 2014 3:28 pm

Anyone having much luck finding ducks in the area? Did a little hunting in sneads ferry before going back home to hunt in Alabama and Mississippi. I'm new to the base so I feel like I've been scouting and huntin nearly blindly. Any tips for where to find ducks on or off base in the area would be helpful.
"There are only two kinds of people that understand Marines: Marines and the enemy. Everyone else has a second-hand opinion."

"If you don't chew big red, then f- you"
Bluesky2012
hunter

Re: Onslow/ Jacksonville area

Postby IDECOY2 » Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:38 pm

I was stationed at Lejeune form 02-06. I hunted New River and french Creek area with the best success. Always thought the potholes on Onlsow beach by the AAV crossing would be a great spot. I also hunted the Croatan a lot too.
IDECOY2
Newb

Postby tsamp » Thu Jan 16, 2014 6:51 am

I am stationed here and it is a pain in the neck to hunt this area do to alota people! I say "people" because they don't have any idea what they are doing: sky busting, calling at anything with wings and the calling sounds like a kid on a kazoo, not obeying the laws of the land, and the list goes on! Haha but if you put in the miles and the foot work you can kill birds. Myself and some friends have had some good draw hunts and early teal shoots plus the here and there spots that people don't wanna work to get to or are to stupid to think outside the box. But anyways good luck!
tsamp
hunter

Postby stealfeathers » Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:56 pm

T Samp is correct.