A couple questions... some input?

Share your insight with others in the North Dakota duck hunting forum in the heart of the Prairie Pothole Region.

Moderator: Chris_Hustad

A couple questions... some input?

Postby redshot27 » Thu May 16, 2013 9:46 pm

Hey everyone, my father and I have been coming to ND for a couple years now. We always have come late oct into early nov. So probably the last week of oct.

This year we were discussing coming a week earlier.. however I don't want to lose out on major migration due to coming to early. All I have read was as long as you're near the end of october there really is nothing to worry about. We stay out in Wishek every year and have a blast.

I was just looking for opinions on it, would it all be local ducks? or is that a buncha bs? I know the weather can push more or less of them down but I figured here would be a great place to ask. We have a couple other family members going with us this time so any help is greatly appreciated.
redshot27
Newb

Re: A couple questions... some input?

Postby slough » Sun May 19, 2013 12:43 am

What would be your reasoning for coming a week earlier?

Tough to say which is better, it really all depends on weather. Could be really good, could be really slow, just as the late Oct.-early Nov week could be.
slough
hunter

Postby redshot27 » Sun May 19, 2013 9:04 pm

Well honestly, thinking about it more. Later would probably be better but the reason for thinking of the change to answer your question is more or less about the dogs.

Our shorthair gave his all the first day (it was an all day ordeal of water retrieves, and he wasn't going to stop) however even after dragging him back to the house he was acting lethargic, and the neopreme suit we had on him (because it was to loose), took away all his hair etc and well he had to rest a couple days. We couldn't keep him warm enough.