winging it

Share your insight with others in the North Dakota duck hunting forum in the heart of the Prairie Pothole Region.

Moderator: Chris_Hustad

winging it

Postby timmer » Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:38 pm

hello hunters, i am a non resident colelge kid from michigan and me and my buddy are thinking sbout coming out and duck hunting, we picked out the spot and that will be the devils lake area, although we are doin it ourselves so i was just wandering some things. I heard that just about any farmer will let you hunt there feild for ducks and geese, although if not we will be hunting the lake itself, but what are my odds of killing ducks jsut by winging it, and also the dates are october 22 through the 28 ish, i would like to know is there any chance at killing a snow goose cuz we dont have them here in michgian often, also can i kill sandhills that would be awesome, any info would be very helpful, and i dont mean to intrude just a colelge kid looking to kill some ducks on a little break we have and a dream trip of some sort, for little money!
timmer
hunter

Re: winging it

Postby timmer » Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:54 pm

also what types of ducks can i be lookin towards killing late october, ive never killed nice looking pintails, gadwalls and wigeon or teal herre, could i get one to hang on the wall out there?
timmer
hunter

Postby Feathers » Tue Sep 24, 2013 4:12 pm

Devils lake is probably the most pressured area in the state. In other areas almost all farmers will give you permission. Devils Lake half at best assuming you can find them.