Trade: Custom Built Aluminum Boat for a hunt

Share your insight with others in the North Dakota duck hunting forum in the heart of the Prairie Pothole Region.

Moderator: Chris_Hustad

Trade: Custom Built Aluminum Boat for a hunt

Postby JustinJ » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:52 am

Just putting this out there to see if I get any response. I'm a custom aluminum boat builder from south Louisiana , now residing in south Ms after huricaine Katrina. Life long, respecful, muture duck hunter. WIth the wetlands loss we are experiencing at record pace down here, and the changing in migration patterns with new agriculture paractices to the north of us, I fear the writting is on the wall for the future of waterfowl hunting in South La, or at least hunting as many of us down hear have come to know. THrough the 80's and 90's we had a very larger track of swamp that offered some of the finest duck hunting anywhere in this country had to offer, and in just a few years because of invasive aquitic weeds, and canal dredging, we watched this place go from world clase duck hunting to not a duck to be seen in there. We also own some land below Venice La, near the mouth of the Ms river. We still do rather well there, but the wetlands are vanishing at an alarming rate, and the ducks just are not showing up like they use to.