Identification

Post your views here in the Ohio duck hunting forum. From lay out boat hunting on Lake Erie to the fields and rivers of OH.

Moderators: Ohio Wildfowler, andrew_kirby, jsa, cartervj

Identification

Postby Lcso61 » Thu Dec 13, 2012 11:25 pm

This is my first year hunting ducks and was wanting to know what kind of ducks are most common in southern Ohio. I have been going scouting religiously and often encounter mallards and wood ducks, I have these down pat, but sometimes I will encounter other types and am having a hard time figuring out what they are. I thought maybe if there was a list of the kind of ducks I would most likely encounter it would be easier to identify. So far I have refrained from shooting anything I can not positively identify but even with different apps and such I cant figure some of them out because the picture shown is shown sitting idle in the water and not screaming by at 30mph like the ones I see. I only know 1 other person who duck hunts and he just blasts everything that comes by so he is no help. Any help would be appreciated since I am learning this on my own.
Lcso61
hunter

Identification

Postby Botiz630 » Fri Dec 14, 2012 7:49 am

First, I want to commend you for having the restraint to not shoot at something you can't identify. I know that can be tough, especially for a new hunter. Good for you.

Secondly, there are tons of resources online to help you learn how to ID ducks on the wing. Try Delta's website, they have quizzes you can take where they show ducks in all different manner of poses and positions. I'm sure DU probably has something similar on their website.

Google images is your friend, create your own journals of different species that you can use as flip charts. After that it is just going to take some time afield, you'll eventually pick it up once you have spent enough time watching live ducks.
It needs more cowbell.
Botiz630
Forum Moderator

Re: Identification