State Waterfowl Drawings

Post your views here in the Ohio duck hunting forum. From lay out boat hunting on Lake Erie to the fields and rivers of OH.

Moderators: Ohio Wildfowler, andrew_kirby, cartervj, jsa

State Waterfowl Drawings

Postby Smokepole » Fri Sep 02, 2005 12:02 pm

THe ODNR has the list from the Waterfowl and Deer hunts on their website. And, I have been shut-out completely.

I can not believe that even the guys I hunt with (6) were shut out. Now it looks like I have to go to either public land or hope to get drawn on site at either Mosquito or Killdeer Plains. This is not a good option for me.

Even my early goose area has been a blank. Showed up at 5:00 am to find a tractor blocking my way into the fields. That's okay cause I told the owner I'd pack-in. Well, I got back to set up and found the neighbors had taken the field. I asked to join and add my deoys to the set but I was told "NO". I've been hunting this farm for about 3 years, now it looks like I'm out. :pissed:

I think I'll cool it for a couple of days and then start over. This is not a good sign.

Sincerely
Smokepole
If you must smoke..... make it black powder
Smokepole
hunter

Postby Wags » Fri Sep 02, 2005 8:43 pm

I won the Ottawa NWR adult hunt again this year. Last year lucked out and hunted both Ottawa NWR and Magee Marsh. Was disappointed did not win anything else.

Not good you were not allowed to join the group hunting in your approved spot. Some people get flakeie over hunting. If you have permission from the land owner and it's in writting, I'd have set up and told the group to pack sand. Theres plenty of geese for everyone.
Wags
hunter

other hunterw

Postby bluebilldays » Wed Sep 07, 2005 5:13 pm

I had the same problem last season at one of my corn fields in Norwalk and when to the farmer and asked if anyone else had permision to hunt there and he said no. lets say I hunted there that day. Make sure those people had permission.
bluebilldays
hunter

divers!!