Dicks

A forum to discuss everything about Oklahoma duck hunting.

Moderators: okiequacker, dgraves

Dicks

Postby LiquidA45 » Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:49 pm

Just went in there to help my buddy pick out some shells for resident goose this weekend. A guy a few years younger than me walks over and asks if we need help and I say "oh just gettin some goose loads, I thknk we are good. thanks though". And I hand my buddy some #2's. I am no expert on geese but I have killed a few, usually with #4s that I was using for ducks. I picked 2's thinking they would be fine for OK residents and if he didn't use them all he could use them for ducks later. The guy tells me those are way to small and he never hunts geese with anything less than BBs. I may be wrong but I was under the impression that a resident goose is smaller than than the greaters we see migrating later in the season, and I told him this. SO basically he told me how he has been hunting for 4 years now and blah blah blah. Instead of trying to argue I just took his advice, bought NO shells and left.

Am I wrong thinking the residents are a bit smaller and that #2's are a bad load? I have never chased geese specifically but this is what I have gathered from listening to other guys.
LiquidA45
hunter

Re: Dicks

Postby garmater » Thu Sep 12, 2013 1:21 pm

All we shoot is #2 for everything ducks and geese I even shot cranes with them last year.
Those areant just any ducks those are dirty ducks.
Dirty Duck Mafia
garmater
hunter

Dicks

Postby okduckdude » Thu Sep 12, 2013 1:22 pm

2's in my opinion would do just fine.... Even on later season close decoying birds. I topically use BB for geese too and 3 1/2 to boot, but no way I would say that 2's couldn't do the job. Especially with the better shot and consistent patterns in the modern steel shot. Back in the old days they brought down geese with crappy steel.

I have this saying, that throwing rocks is throwing rocks.