Zone 1 Newb question

A place to gain knowledge about Oregon duck hunting. Share your strategies here. From hunting on the Columbia river delta and Pacific Ocean to the open plains of eastern OR.

Moderators: Tealer, njonesy_07, Oregon Honker

Zone 1 Newb question

Postby snooopidydoo » Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:08 am

I'm new to ducks, bought all the gear i could think of and I'm ready to hit the water.
I've read the snops multiple times and i still havnt found my answer.
It appears you may bag 1-2 of certain species like the pintail, and canvasback for example.
Are there any ducks in general you can't shoot???? wood ducks?
This would be really helpful before i hit the water as i don't have anybody to teach me or help me, just going out on a limb and trying to get some birds by myself.
Thanks a lot guys.

Also if theres any goose hunters in zone 1 maybe you could shed light on that too. says you may bag no more than 2... whatever (darks) but which geese can't you shoot??? or protected???
snooopidydoo
hunter

Re: Zone 1 Newb question

Postby kodiak06 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:12 pm

Here's the regs, not sure what part of zone 1 you're in, that matters for geese.
http://www.dfw.state.or.us/resources/hu ... d_regs.pdf
kodiak06
hunter

Postby snooopidydoo » Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:40 pm

Thanks for the reply Kodiak.
I read it again and still this is what i come up with:

SW zone goose: 4 dark & 6 white DBL
The daily dark goose limit may not include more than three cackling Canada geese or Aleutian Canada geese

So i think i have that pretty well figured out, but the Duck & Merganser has me stumped.

7 DBL..Within the daily bag limit of seven ducks you may not have more than: Two hen mallards, two pintail, two redheads, and one
canvasback .

Besides the restrictions listed ^^ are all the other ducks, Mergansers legal? wood ducks etc?

Sorry about this but I'm kind of anal because i really don't feel like losing my hunting rights.