Hunting near Bend

A place to gain knowledge about Oregon duck hunting. Share your strategies here. From hunting on the Columbia river delta and Pacific Ocean to the open plains of eastern OR.

Moderators: Tealer, njonesy_07, Oregon Honker

Hunting near Bend

Postby EXTREMA » Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:45 pm

Hello everyone,

i'm new to the Oregon forum and coming from the California forum. I'm moving to Bend next year and i was wondering if there are some good hunting and fishing locations near Bend? I hunt ducks, geese, pheasants, quail and dove. Are there any other types of fowl that Central Oregon has, like grouse? I have been to Prineville, Sisters ad Lapine but i didn't have a chance to fish or even see a nice river. Also i hear the better waterfowl and upland game hunting is to the east?
I love the fog and rain!
EXTREMA
hunter

Postby Swamp Puppy » Fri Aug 18, 2006 8:48 pm

from Bend you are just a few hours north from the Summer Lake area. great waterfowling down there...just get past the opening weekend. it's a zoo. after that you'll pretty much have the run of the place. you can shoot all types of ducks..as well as Canada Geese and Snows. it's a popular spot for the snows.

not a whole lot going on right IN Bend that i am aware of.

i think you'll like it out there though...lots of things to do outdoors will be within an easy drive from your place.
Friends Don't Let Friends Shoot Mossbergs.
Swamp Puppy
hunter

Postby EXTREMA » Sat Aug 19, 2006 3:54 am

Thanks, sounds good! :thumbsup:

I love it in Oregon with all the pine tree's, rivers and mountains. California is too fast paced, flat and full of rude people.

I hunted rice fields and water blinds (hunt clubs) for 15+ years so i'm not used to finding a place to hunt. Is summer lake a refuge?
I love the fog and rain!
EXTREMA
hunter

Postby Swamp Puppy » Sat Aug 19, 2006 9:12 am