Saturday opener - ready?

A great state with a number of waterfowl. This Pennsylvania duck hunting forum is a great place to discuss hunting practices from all over the state.

Moderators: PADUCKSTUFFER, don taylor

Saturday opener - ready?

Postby macdaddy » Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:45 am

Hope youns are ready for Saturday. I can't wait. Putting new weights on the dekes - have three more to fix up. Practicing the calls; wow! Good luck!
I'm the guy your Mother Goose warned you about.
macdaddy
hunter

First duck...

Postby Snaph » Sat Oct 09, 2004 9:49 pm

Wow... first time duck hunting and I was overwhelmed. My first duck I got was a mature woody. I always wanted one for my wall. The guys (I hunted with) that have been duck hunting for years never got (mature) one. I am still riding this high...why have I waited 20 years to try duck hunting? I was the only one who thought that me saying "aflack" was a funny duck call when we walked back to the swamp. I'm just a stupid rookie I guess. How much wood would a wood duck, duck if a wood duck could duck wood...I'm sure I'm not the first one to think of that.
Snaph
hunter

Postby jlb512 » Sun Oct 10, 2004 8:55 am

I had my best day in duck hunting!!! Wow my friend and I found this nice hole in the swamps here in Erie, I shot 3 greenwing teal, 1 woodie, and a black duck can you believe it. My friend prayed to the hunting gods and they delivered.
jlb512
hunter

Postby Snaph » Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:08 am

I guess the hunting gods smiled on all of the Erie area. We had so many birds come in on us it was uncanny. All three of us should have got our limit. I guess we need to calm down and shoot better.
Snaph
hunter

Postby suskiedrake » Sun Oct 10, 2004 6:11 pm

Send some of those birds southeast we have forgotten what a mallard looks like....Although the woodies are in good supply....
suskiedrake
hunter

Erie: how to

Postby macdaddy » Thu Oct 28, 2004 10:33 am

Hey, Snafu: got some questions 'bout hunting the lake.