Trying to Learn

A great state with a number of waterfowl. This Pennsylvania duck hunting forum is a great place to discuss hunting practices from all over the state.

Moderators: PADUCKSTUFFER, don taylor

Trying to Learn

Postby ryand0818 » Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:49 pm

Hey guys,

I have never hunted duck before, but am trying to learn. I am from Bucks County and was wondering if anyone had any advice, tips, or thoughts on where I could learn more.

Thanks!

-Ryan
ryand0818
hunter

Re: Trying to Learn

Postby mk3vento97 » Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:45 pm

I learned from watching hunting shows and tagging along with other hunters.
mk3vento97
hunter

Postby ajkissin » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:03 pm

I'm also in the learning process (which I'm sure it's a never ending cycle). But this is my first year hunting and my best advice is to do some research online to figure out the basics and then just go for it. Get a dozen decoys, a call, and a little water and learn by fire. I'm the furthest thing from an expert but I know a lot more than I did on opening day.

One of the top things I've learned is that you don't always need the biggest boat, most expensive gun, largest spread, or the biggest body of water to hunt. The only duck I've killed this season (due to poor shooting on my end) was a wood duck on a creek no more than 25 feet wide.

I'm from Delaware county and have a couple spots I hunt by myself near my house. Maybe we could get together sometime. I don't have much knowledge to offer but It's more fun to learn the ropes with somebody else.
ajkissin
hunter

Postby cthemfly25 » Thu Dec 06, 2012 7:00 am