Duck Hunting Forum banner

Another Newbie

3K views 17 replies 8 participants last post by  timpy 
#1 ·
Hi everyone, my name is Tim and I live in Pittsburgh. I am originally from Armstrong county but I moved here with my wife when we finished college. I have been hunting since I was 12 but this is my first year hunting waterfowl. I wanted to expand the available seasons open to hunt, and since I buy a stamp for doves, I figured why not try waterfowl too. I have gone out about 10 ties this season since November and I am already hooked on it.

I have been trying to scout around here but most places close are private or are a half hour or farther, which makes it difficult. I have spent the last few years finding places for deer, turkey, pheasant and grouse, but this is a new challenge. I did hit some state parks and small lots with water and I was able to get two mallard drakes this season.

Since I just started I don't have a lot of equipment yet. I do have a Canada and a Mallard call that I got fro Christmas. I use a Mossberg 835 Ulti-mag and my English Springer Daisy. She is a great dog and she is a fantastic little flusher and retriever that can and will hunt anything that I need her to. I am hoping to get a dozen decoys of Canadas and Ducks for next season as well as a layout blind.

I wanted to sign up here because I thought it would be really nice to meet others in the state that enjoy the same things I do and I could really use your knowledge on the subject. All of my old hunting buddies live more than an hour away so if anyone wants to come hunting or let me tag along, that would be great.

Nice meeting everyone and I look forward to knocking down some birds with you!

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome.