Noob to waterfowl

A great state with a number of waterfowl. This Pennsylvania duck hunting forum is a great place to discuss hunting practices from all over the state.

Moderators: PADUCKSTUFFER, don taylor

Noob to waterfowl

Postby jmaker33 » Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:04 pm

Hey guys. I am new to duck hunting but not hunting. Just watned to give some info about myself. I live in erie county and have hunted white tail deer, rabbit, pheasant and turkey mainly. I have been hunting for 18 years now. I have a lot of experience in small game and about 8 years experience with white tail. I have always wanted to duck hunt and hear it's a blast. I am trying to find some places to go to get my feet wet sorta speak. I have 3 young kids that i would like to pass on the knowledge to when they are old enough which is another reason why i am looking to get the experience now. If anyone has any questions, suggestions, comments feel free to ask or share. I hope i can get to learnin and earnin and see what it's all about. Thansk guys.
jmaker33
hunter

Re: Noob to waterfowl

Postby Conewago Duck'n » Mon Aug 05, 2013 12:06 am

Good luck with you're start at waterfowling, just be careful, it can become an addiction. I started out just giving it a try and now it is my number one hobby. Getting even better now as my son has turned 12 this year and I can start to pass my love of waterfowl hunting on to him.
Conewago Duck'n
hunter

Re: Noob to waterfowl

Postby don taylor » Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:42 am

If I lived in Erie, I'd probably sign up for a blind on PI and also,, and this is the KEY. Do what all of the locals do. Have EVERYONE you know who possesses a hunting licence go to the TREC and sign up as well. All of their entries can count towards you. When they win, they simply sign the blind over to you. They don't even need to hunt ducks, just be good buddies of your's and drive down with their license and sign up.