07-08 season

Share your opinions, reply to posts and meet others in the South Carolina duck hunting forum.

07-08 season

Postby josh 06 » Sun Aug 26, 2007 7:04 pm

well its almost here.went scouting tonight for the early teal and goose season.saw a nice buck in velvet.i think it was the same big boy i saw last year the first week of duck season.i also saw 2 blue wing teal and about 30 geese.we planted some rice tis spring and it is doing awesome its about 2 feet tall and throwing seeds like crazy.any one else seeing any birds yet?i live in the upstate and we rarely see blue wings.probably only some of the few ive seen my whole life.we get quite a bit of green wings though. i also wanted to ask another question hopefully some one can help me. ive been hunting the same spot since i was about 8 years old and my father has been hunting it since his early twenties.he tells me about all the ducks that used to come in their such as widgeon,cans,scaup,lots of teal and lots of mallards.he said it was nothing to limit out quick. well now we usually limit on woodies and if we're lucky one or two mallards. wonder what has happened? its a pretty big lake probably 12 or 15 acres with lots of food and cover.no houses have been built nearby or anything like that.has the duck population suffered that much?is it our southern weather?just wanting to know what some of you older guys think.ive been hunting ducks for twenty years and even i notice a difference in the way it used to be when i started out. thanks :sad:
josh 06
hunter

Postby SCoutdoorsman » Mon Aug 27, 2007 12:45 pm