SCWA bands or any out of state bands

Share your opinions, reply to posts and meet others in the South Carolina duck hunting forum.

SCWA bands or any out of state bands

Postby bigduckhunter » Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:05 pm

hey guys...i was just wondering if anybody has harvested a band this year or knows anyone that has found one...ive been hunting ducks for 9 years ( im 20) and have yet to kill a band...even though i have been in the same boat 5 times when someone else has killed one... but anyways tell me how many yall have found this year...would like to know if SCWA is still banding...thanks..

Taylor C.
bigduckhunter
hunter

SCWA BANDS

Postby sc_countryboy26 » Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:32 am

No they do not band ducks at SCWA anymore. I do not know the story behind it, but I know that they do not do it anymore.
sc_countryboy26
hunter

bands

Postby bigduckhunter » Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:47 pm

well that sucks... it think killing is like harvesting a 8 pt. buck....theres is nothing more exciting than getting a banded duck..i guess since SCWA isnt doing that anymore that my chances of killin a banded bird are shot.....o well guess its time to make my yearly trip to texas or louisiana
bigduckhunter
hunter

Postby 3dhunting » Wed Dec 03, 2008 4:08 pm

we killed 5 banded mallards in gaffney before they guit banding and killed the biggest woodie drake from maryland. if you want a goose band go to furman or floerdanial in greenvillei. see bands on those when i go that way.i was at table rock park with my wife and little girl and they were 5 that had bands. i got some close enough to catch, and i did but it didnt have a band. let me tell you , a full grown alive goose puts up a $&%$& of a fight. i have a thing about catching live birds, i caught a seagull at the beach one time,i drue a growd on that one. good luck
3dhunting
hunter

Postby coaltrain1300 » Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:43 am