Planning a NE SD unguided hunt.

This forum is for those who enjoy South Dakota duck hunting. And from spring Snow goose hunting and the Pheasant hunting in the #1 Pheasant state in the US.

Moderator: sdgr8wthnter

Planning a NE SD unguided hunt.

Postby FowlPlay27403 » Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:56 am

Gentleman, let me first start off by saying I am not looking for your honey hole or spot. I have done a ton of research and I have narrowed my choice to where I am going to hunt in South Dakota to Brown County and the surrounding area based on projections of both Pheasant and Duck numbers. I have even created an excel file that has total projection for resident and non-resident projected numbers. So I know what county I am hunting in. What I need to know is what is the best time of year for you guys IN GENERAL to take good numbers of ducks AND pheasants. I am a rookie pheasant hunter but a seasoned duck hunter. I see a lot of talk about the end of October for both pheasants and ducks so I wanted to get some more opinions. I am planning on making Aberdeen my base camp. I will be doing this hunt completely on my own. My buddies and I will not be using a guide and will only be hunting public land, CREP, and WIA. Any and all information is welcome. Anything as to what we absolutely need to bring. Not hunting licenses, waders, decoys, etc., because we have that covered, but maybe some items for pheasant hunting, things we as duck hunters wouldn't normally think about. Area information regarding public land that we should scout which we can access by foot would be greatly appreciated as we will not have a boat or a dog. So everything is going to be carried in and out on our backs. We also want to be able to retrieve our birds so please keep that in mind if making a suggestion as far as areas we should scout. All information is welcome. Thanks for your help gents, and I look forward to your responses.