Moving to Tennessee...

Talk about Tennessee duck hunting if you enjoy the outdoors.

Moderators: Preacher1011, duckbumm, duck slayR, Itchy Coyote

Moving to Tennessee...

Postby mcn22 » Thu Sep 07, 2006 2:44 pm

Hey guys,

I recently got engaged and am making the move to Nashville. :getdown: I grew up in Kansas and have lived here my whole life, and as sad as it is to leave my homeland, I must leave to be with my future wife.

I have been hunting waterfowl for 5-6 years now and absolutely love it. Problem is, I have no idea what kind of waterfowl opportunities are available in TN. I would never ask for specific locations to hunt on a public forum such as this, but was just wondering if there are good waterfowl opportunities there? Is there a good amount of public land that I could atleast get started on before I get to know some of the locals for possible private hunting opportunities? Any help would be much appreciated.........seems like there are a lot of nice guys on this forum. :salude:

I'm definitely going to need some new hunting buddies as well. I don't know anyone in TN. Hopefully I bump into some fellow waterfowler's early on in the season. I plan on moving around November 1st.
mcn22
hunter

Postby SLIM » Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:56 pm

mcn22,

First, congrats on the marriage. For someone who is about to be in your shoes soon, my congratulations to you!

I have been hunting West TN the last 15 years, and now Middle TN for the last 3. I can tell you that the hunting is best for the public guys in western TN. I live in the Nashville area and here in Middle TN I hunt the WMA draw blinds of Old Hickory Lake. I have a place in West TN and do a few trips to Arkansas as well. Opening day is pretty hot for the blinds on Old Hickory, but once things get underway a good day (most of the time - unless you have one of the top 5 blinds on the lake) is 5-6 ducks.