New to Dallas Area, Partner Wanted and Some Advice

Some of the best waterfowl hunting in the nation. Learn and share your experiences duck hunting in the Republic of Texas. From the Canada geese of the Panhandle to the Snows of Houston and estuaries for ducks on the coast and the livestock impoundments to the west.

Moderators: HENDU3270, whistlin_wings, DoubleBayou

New to Dallas Area, Partner Wanted and Some Advice

Postby nockednlocked » Thu Oct 31, 2013 4:25 pm

Hello all,

I am new to the Dallas Area, my wife and I moved here earlier this year for my work and I want to get my feet wet doing some duck hunting this winter. I live in Plano (Just on the Allen border) and work in Dallas but I am willing to drive some to get on some decent areas. I am looking to hunt public this winter and have been doing a lot of google earth scouting. I have some general questions:

1. What time of year to the ducks come into the DFW area or is the weather dependent on what is going on up north?
2. Are small ponds or open water better for ducks around DFW?
3. Any other major tips or advice you are willing to share on the hunting areas/style around DFW?

Lastly, I am looking to find a few hunting partner(s) that are open to going out and hunting together. I am not looking to steal your honey hole or post its location on the web, just looking to get some decent wing shooting in this winter. I have decoys, can call, a jerk line, a couple mojos, waders, and all the needed gear and have been duck hunting all my life just never in Texas (grew up hunting in Oregon and just moved from Utah). I can assure you I am easy to get along with and am willing to pay my share of the gas money. I have been trying to do my own leg work and am going out for the opener on some public ponds so we will see how it goes.

Thanks for reading and any other tips anyone is willing to put out there is much appreciated.

Mike
nockednlocked
Newb

Re: New to Dallas Area, Partner Wanted and Some Advice