Newbie Intro and Detailed Trip Report from 11/23/13 Hunt

Some of the best waterfowl hunting in the nation. Learn and share your experiences duck hunting in the Republic of Texas. From the Canada geese of the Panhandle to the Snows of Houston and estuaries for ducks on the coast and the livestock impoundments to the west.

Moderators: HENDU3270, whistlin_wings, DoubleBayou

Postby waterfowler0013 » Tue Nov 26, 2013 6:49 pm

Hello y'all -

My name is Kyle. I live in Round Rock, just about to Georgetown north of Austin. This is my first year hunting, duck or any other kind as a matter of fact. I bought my first gun back in October, a Remington 870 Express Super Mag at the gun show for $300. I was drawn to Duck & water fowl hunting by several factors. It seems that there is a definite art to it. There are so many elements, and opportunity to learn, develop and evolve as a hunter year after year. It can be overwhelming just starting out, both financially and otherwise! However, the community of water fowlers in our great state are an amazing group of people! I truly appreciate everyone and their kindness.

So, I went on my first hunt technically on the 16th, with the Fellowship of Christian Sportsmen. We were on a boat and went out to Granger Lake. While none of us fired a shot, it was a good trip and educational for sure.

This past weekend, I went on a guided hunt just northeast of Waco. The drive Friday night was horrendous with the heavy rain. But my visit to Cabelas that night made it all better. Following a night in a seedy hotel, I was off at 4:00 AM headed to meet my guide. I figured for $50 and fully guided, I couldn't go wrong! It turned out to be only myself and the guide perfect learning opportunity!