Newbie question

This is the Utah duck hunting forum where you are invited to communicate with other hunters like yourself.

Moderator: Spiraleyes

Newbie question

Postby O_E_J » Thu Oct 28, 2004 8:46 pm

Okay pro waterfowl hunters... How on earth do you determine the distance of birds when you first started out? I hate to say it but I think I may be skybusting without even knowing it?!? The last thing I want is to be a skybuster. Also what is a good all around shot size to use for duck and goose in a 2 3/4 or 3" shell?
OEJ
O_E_J
hunter

Postby Bret » Thu Oct 28, 2004 9:21 pm

Well I don't know about being a pro waterfowler but I have some experience, and will try to help.

This is a tough question, and I tend to error on the side of caution. I set my farthest decoy 35-40 normal steps from where I am sitting. I know that at that range I can kill effectivly. So if they are on the edge or inside the spread I know I can get 'em. The farthest decoy gives me something to relate to.
Pass shooting is a diferant game altogether and much more difficult to judge. for instance a mallard flys over and he looks much closer than a teal at the same distance.What I say is look for detail in the birds colors obviously you can not see detail in a mallard drake at say 70 yards. but you can at 30 or something. It is best I think to error on the side of caution more so than cripple or lose a bunch of ducks because they were just to far out to make clean kills. Also know that we all have and will make mistakes on judging distance, and we all started as beginers the fact that you have asked this question makes me think you are headed in the right direction.

As far as shot size goes I think there are 3 things you should look for when you buy shells Velocity (fps) how much shot is in the shell like 1 1/8 oz or 1 1/4 oz and of course shot size.