Mix spread of decoys.

This is the Utah duck hunting forum where you are invited to communicate with other hunters like yourself.

Moderator: Spiraleyes

Mix spread of decoys.

Postby zachh72 » Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:21 pm

Hey everybody, I need help to decide what to put in my decoy spread. :help: I have around 24 mallard decoys and i don't know what else to put in the spread. I was thinkin teal, pintail, gadwall, but I don't know like i said I am new to this and I have nobody to teach me. I am 17 and i am the only advid duck hunter in my family. So i am really new to this I went out hutning last year. I live in Moab Utah and i am pretty much the only duck hunter in this town. It is not a big thing down here. But i absolutely love it. I will mainly be hunting ponds I think the biggest one I have hunted was 200 yard in lenght and about 100 yards wide. And the rest are maybe 50 yards in width and 100 in length (maybe0 I have a few buddies that i got into duck hunting they all will be going with me this year. But i was wondering what other types of ducks i should add to my spread. And would a jerk line be good to add? Or should I buy a Mojo? The ducks down here do not get pressured very much except when I hunt them and when some guys drive the Colorado River and jump shoot them. That's pretty much it. But the ducks are here. So any advise will help thanks! :grooving:
"Every dog is a good dog, there is just something about a hunting dog that complete's a man."
zachh72
hunter

Re: Mix spread of decoys.

Postby JuniorPre 360 » Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:48 pm