Decoy Diversity

This is the Utah duck hunting forum where you are invited to communicate with other hunters like yourself.

Moderator: Spiraleyes

Decoy Diversity

Postby w1!dbill » Wed Sep 28, 2005 3:09 pm

Right now I've got two dozen mallard dekes, along with a couple of "duck butts" as I like to call the feeder dekes. Now that I'm back in a "game on" situation with duck hunting, I'm looking to diversify. I know I'll probably start a ruckus here, but what kinds and what numbers of dekes would make up the "dream" spread for a typical foot soldier hunting public areas in northern Utah? From the reading I've done so far, I'm sure I'll have to pick up a coule of sawbill decoys :smile:
w1!dbill
hunter

Postby honer » Wed Sep 28, 2005 3:35 pm

i am going to try an new spread for the opener. it may be that i'm lazy, or it may be out of necessity as i'm a foot soldier, but i am going with:

16 teal of which 8 will be greenwings 3 of them drakes and 5 hens. 8 will be bluewings 3 of them drakes 5 hens. then there will be 4 mallards 3 will be hens and 1 drake (spinner) for motion.