tips for a recent transplant to VT?

Waterfowl topics at their best, post here and read others views on Vermont duck hunting

Moderator: yellodog1

tips for a recent transplant to VT?

Postby Quinn_Smith » Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:56 pm

Hello all,

I just moved down to Vermont (Bethel area) from Alaska this fall. I am a recent convert to waterfowl hunting (just a couple of years), and am excited to continue here.

I have been out a couple of times for geese so far, with minimal luck.

so I thought I'd reach out and see if I could rustle up some advise for where are generally good places to hunt geese and ducks?

also is there a retriever training club in the area? I have a 10 month Y. lab whom I'm training, never done retriever training before so a group would be helpful.

thank you all
-Quinn
Quinn_Smith
Newb

Postby treedog » Sun Sep 21, 2008 6:52 pm

Hello, Quinn, I am fairly new to Vermont myself.

My uncles and brothers and I began hunting here in '52, then we were re-treaded and never came back to the Green Mountain State until the 60's, began hunting in earnest when my brother retired here in 1971-72 winter.

I was in Bethel the other day, picked up some parts for my Vermont Castings.

In reply to the querries, there are several retriever clubs, a hunting partner of mine can steer you to them better than I can, I will send him your way.

And the best hunting in your neck of the woods will be right through town and east, follow 14 and you'll see plenty of spots. If you'd like compnay or to join us at some of our spots, drop a line, I flaot the river with a friend when the weather is warm enough, I can't take being crouched in a canoe or baot on a cold day for very long. Not anymore.

Will
treedog
hunter

Postby HotDog » Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:18 am

:welcome:

How far are you willing to travel?
Pick up a " Vermont Atlas and Gazetteer ". It is a detailed map that also outlines the wildlife management areas of the state.
Good luck to you.
WTN10 wrote: