decoys to get

For information on local hunting and meet other hunters here in the Virginia duck hunting forum.

Moderators: swampbilly 1980, fowl mouth, Ichabod97, callncut

decoys to get

Postby aarongreen123 » Mon Nov 21, 2005 9:46 am

hey guys! i'm looking at buying some decoys, starting from scratch. i am new to duck hunting in VA, live in Virginia Beach. i plan to hunt at chickahominy and on the james at ragged island. what species of decoys would you all advice me to buy? how bout brand name? advice on rigging?
thanks
aaron
aarongreen123
hunter

Postby VARINA » Mon Nov 21, 2005 11:25 am

Talk to vah2ofowler22, he's da man.
VARINA
hunter

Postby MIKE J. » Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:17 pm

Aaron, look to page 3 of the old post here in the Virginia Forum, I posted a similiar question in Sept and got some great info from everyone. I might be heading to Ragged Island this week, let me know if your interested. Mike
MIKE J.
Forum & State Moderator

Postby cut_un » Mon Nov 21, 2005 5:49 pm

Don't worry buddy, told ya these guys will take you under their wing and treat you like family....we better than family :thumbsup: Cause you are a brother on here :salude:
Big Al's" Take 'Em" Silhouettes Pro Staff

Team Chasin' Feathers
Eastern Shore Rod & Gun Club
Share your passion, take a kid hunting!
cut_un
hunter

Postby vah2ofowler22 » Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:22 pm

Well Well. Lets see. I use all GHG decoys, because those are the ones i like :toofunny:

Well now on a serious note.
I would start with duck decoys, because in those areas that will probally be the most popular bird to check into your spread. Hunting the chick in the late dec and Jan months you need a good amount of decoys. I would start with 2-3 mallards(ghg hot buys $20 cabelas, Cant beat that) Then maybe look into some blue bills(the ghg and the g&h are good, or find some old ones and paint them. then splash in some pintails,(6) some teal (6) and maybe a pair of woodducks.