VA Rookie

For information on local hunting and meet other hunters here in the Virginia duck hunting forum.

Moderators: swampbilly 1980, Ichabod97, callncut, fowl mouth

VA Rookie

Postby SMarkum » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:02 am

Hello, I am new to duck hunting and never hunted VA before. I am out in the mountians and have a few local holes I plan on trying out just to stay hunting until I head to Arkanas in Jan. I have been lurking around the forum for a month or so and was wondering if anyone is hunting Rockbridge/Bath area. Any advise I can get I will take (besides give up duck hunting)
"First duck down got me hooked"
SMarkum
hunter

Re: VA Rookie

Postby Ichabod97 » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:20 am

Check out: http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/wildlife/waterfowl/

Might look to see if there are any WMA's up that way. Other than that...never hunted up in that area, so good luck.
Nick "Ichabod"
Waterfowl Mafia

Modified Scissor Blind ppt

imaduckin up north wrote:There aint no ducks in VA
Ichabod97
State Moderator

Postby cut_un » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:54 am

:welcome: A few local ducks to be had.... Scouting and Understanding our VA. laws are the keys,everything else...just huntin!
Big Al's" Take 'Em" Silhouettes Pro Staff

Team Chasin' Feathers
Eastern Shore Rod & Gun Club
Share your passion, take a kid hunting!
cut_un
hunter

Postby WOODIE13 » Tue Oct 02, 2012 5:16 pm

Check out Lake Moomaw, Smith Moutain Lake, New, Cowpasture and Jackson river, may not be limits early season, but you would be amazed when the cold sets in. :thumbsup:

Here is a link for you to check out as well.

http://www.virginiaoutdoors.com/activities/details/Hunting/#heartofappalachia
Good luck.
WOODIE13
hunter

Postby Mr.Blonde » Tue Oct 02, 2012 6:21 pm