How do you guys do it?

For information on local hunting and meet other hunters here in the Virginia duck hunting forum.

Moderators: swampbilly 1980, callncut, Ichabod97, fowl mouth

How do you guys do it?

Postby N2hunt » Wed Dec 11, 2013 5:57 pm

So I am fairly new to the sport and the area, I have met one guy whom I can hunt with and has a decent spot. So my problem has been trying to find more places to go, or more of it is actually getting permission to hunt swamps. I feel I am batting 0 on this one. Do you guys have any tips on talking land owners into letting you hunt there property. Also looking into getting a small boat but the blind laws around here make my head spin. Best of luck yo you guys the rest of the season
N2hunt
hunter

Re: How do you guys do it?

Postby skimerhorn » Wed Dec 11, 2013 6:13 pm

Hit the lottery so you can afford to go places. If not, just hope to run across a spot or someone that's nice.
skimerhorn
hunter

Postby N2hunt » Wed Dec 11, 2013 6:17 pm

Lol it is what 400 million now
N2hunt
hunter

Postby swampbilly 1980 » Wed Dec 11, 2013 6:57 pm

We could tell you N2- but then we'd have to,.. well,..you know,...kill 'ya :lol3:
Just messin' :wink:

Welcome to the forum :welcome:

Some of us are blessed enough to have lived in the same area for years and years, and know a lot of folks we grew up with that own property. Some of us have friends who, know people , (who also know people, who also know people), that own land and you know the "rest of the story". I myself played in a local band for a long time and met a ton of folks through music.
Got to hunt some places as a result.

One place I hunt for example, I aquired by knocking on some doors, and another place I have because I swept the floors of a drug store for someones' great grandfather when I was a teen growing up for a few X-tra bucks after school. The landowner remembered me.

Another place I rent.