Float Tubes

Plenty of Washington duck hunting information to learn and share from the Pugent sound to the open plains of eastern WA. Discuss all of the Washington duck hunting topics here.

Moderators: Token, brokerbyduck, h2ofowlr, washingtonmuley

Float Tubes

Postby tank » Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:10 pm

Don't try this at home, I'm a professional. More like a dumb azz.

Most everyone knows I aint real bright but this was an extra dumb move.

Happen damn fast too. I did things I knew I shouldn't have done. I seen where this duck I knocked down when into some cattails, so I put my shotgun around my neck, with my decoy retriever for a paddle and took off in the float tube, I coasted down the canal
I knew it was deeper on the current side. I was going to get the duck, then cross over and walk up the other side which is shallow, past my blind and coast back over to it.
Well you know this didn't happen or I wouldn't be telling it. I was coasting back down like I had planned but I was going too fast, I grabbed and something in the water to slow me down and as soon as I grabbed what ever it was. I flipped the damn tube. As soon as I seen it was going over I was trying to separate myself from the tube.
I was running out of air fast and I grabbed something long enough that I could get my head up and get some air.
All this didn't take that long, but it seemed like it did at the time. I just told the wife I tripped in about 6" or water.
The phones shot, glasses and decoy retriever gone , but when I got back to camp a kid that I fish with took off with his 3 wheeler and found the float tube. The only thing I gave a crap about, was getting dry clothes on, getting in my sleeping bag with a cup of coffee. I can't have wife or son to find out, they would try to keep me home.
The water was so deep and fast there, if I did have company not much they could have done. I learned a lot in just a few minutes.
My waders are one and a half size too large and I couldn't get the things off.