new to duck hunting need help

Plenty of Washington duck hunting information to learn and share from the Pugent sound to the open plains of eastern WA. Discuss all of the Washington duck hunting topics here.

Moderators: Token, washingtonmuley, brokerbyduck, h2ofowlr

new to duck hunting need help

Postby jscott7548 » Thu Jan 02, 2014 3:54 am

Hey guys im new to duck hunting and had a few questions.
1. What kind of shot shell is everyon useing?
2. What tags and lincense do i need(have big game from deer season)
3. What are kind of gear do i need (plan to hunt tricites area)
jscott7548
Newb

Re: new to duck hunting need help

Postby Tool-Man » Thu Jan 02, 2014 10:11 am

1.) hours of discussion have been wasted on this topic. Short answer is buy some 3" steel #2 until you form an opinion of your own.

2.) Not to be a **** but there is good information in here. Spend some time and read it. You will be glad you did. http://wdfw.wa.gov/publications/01535/wdfw01535.pdf

3.) Best bet on gear at this point is to buy lots of gas and a good pair of Binos. Get out and scout. Look for birds, look for places to hunt birds... heck, even look for other hunters. Once you know where you are going, the gear will be more obvious.

And :welcome:
Last edited by Tool-Man on Thu Jan 02, 2014 2:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Life is too short to hunt with an ugly dog.

Join WWA to save the sport. Ask me about it. http://www.waduck.org
Tool-Man
hunter

Postby somethinsmellsfishy » Thu Jan 02, 2014 12:32 pm

Tool-Man wrote:1.) hours of discussion have been wasted on this topic. Short answer is buy some 3" steel #2 until you form an opinion of your own.

2.) Not to be a **** but there is good information in here. Spend some time and read it. You will be glad you did. http://wdfw.wa.gov/publications/01535/wdfw01535.pdf