All Around Columbia boat suggestions or specs

Plenty of Washington duck hunting information to learn and share from the Pugent sound to the open plains of eastern WA. Discuss all of the Washington duck hunting topics here.

Moderators: Token, brokerbyduck, washingtonmuley, h2ofowlr

All Around Columbia boat suggestions or specs

Postby Jesse Jaymes » Sun Jan 19, 2014 3:56 pm

I am way out on the cash. I am an extreme novice to watercraft.

I am way up the Columbia.

I realize that everything is a give and take, and there are a million Pros and Cons, and a General does nothing very well. But is there a boat that can do it all up here? Duck hunt 2 guys anywhere on the Columbia from the Grand Coulee to the border, as both transport and a boat based blind. Get into some inlets with varying water levels, say 8" of water?

Then be converted to be able to take the wife and dog to do some lake fishing or Columbia fishing(not extreme weather)?

Seems there are lots of modified V flat bottom boats, with hunt decks, pods, surface drives, tunnel hulls, jets, or whatever. But I don't see many boats like that around here.

Any suggestions on what specs to begin looking for?

The GatorTrax Gen II boat below looks like the Cat's Ass to me. But as I said, I have NO experience. Am I way off? This would be for runs of 2-5 miles I'd guess. Looks like the blind can be disassembled after the season leaving one with a pretty serviceable fishing boat. Even if you took fishing for 'eye and 'bows on the Columbia out of the equation. Just launching for ducks and making a run 3-5 miles up or down the river, then fishing local lakes, is this a stupid direction to even begin?

http://www.gatortraxboats.com/p-228-gat ... en-ii.aspx
http://www.gatortraxboats.com/images/genII11.jpg
Jesse Jaymes
hunter

Re: All Around Columbia boat suggestions or specs

Postby Chessyboy » Sun Jan 19, 2014 8:23 pm