New to the state

Plenty of Washington duck hunting information to learn and share from the Pugent sound to the open plains of eastern WA. Discuss all of the Washington duck hunting topics here.

Moderators: Token, washingtonmuley, brokerbyduck, h2ofowlr

New to the state

Postby getemducks » Wed Jan 29, 2014 9:08 pm

Hey guys I'm new to the State of Washington. I'm from the Hayden/Rathdrum Idaho area (which is around Cour D'Alene area). I have been to washington three different times (that's kind of a lie I go to Spokane fairly often). Twice to visit my wife of 21 years parents in Ellensburg, and the other to finally move over here. Currently I'm in Marysville and still learning my way around. I was born and raised in Idaho, hunting turkeys, elk, deer, Canada's and various puddlers. But as of recently the wife convinced me to move here to Washington. I have to say its a beautiful state and I really like the mild winters and all the sea life. I'm really interested in giving sea duck hunting a try as I see lots of them on the sound, it's always been something I have wanted to try. My wife's parents have quite a bit of private land in elensburg that holds lots of game animals and they said I'm more then welcome to come down and hunt. This was my 30th season this year, first picked up hunting when I was 14, although it was an odd season, it was a great one. Shot many puddlers and Canada's with my old 870 and my new to me benelli SBEII. I have 2 daughters, 13 and 15. I have tried to get them into the outdoors but it's just not going to happen haha Im currently looking for employment, but have an interview for a machinist position at Boeing. Im thinking while I have some time off I will take the kids to Seattle and check out the aquarium, the space needle and maybe jump on the great wheel and see what it's all about. My wife knows the spots better then I do. I'm excited and think I made a good choice to move here. I thought I would poke my head in and say hi, maybe even