One Week

The eastern side of the nation has some of the best hunting. Share your West Virginia duck hunting tips, tactics, insights and information.

One Week

Postby WVClaysandBassin » Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:46 am

One week away. Very excited, even though haven't been seeing many birds. Just ready to get back out there. Who's heading out opening day? I'll be out with a buddy who's never waterfowled before, should be a good time.
Waterfowling is truly an addiction.
WVClaysandBassin
hunter

Re: One Week

Postby cbaines16 » Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:44 pm

what part of west virginia do you hunt? I am new to the state and having trouble finding places to go.
cbaines16
Newb

Postby WOODIE13 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:34 am

All week, but just not seeing the birds at all, hope this cold front changes that on Thursday, only takes a couple days to get a few birds in.
WOODIE13
hunter

Postby WVClaysandBassin » Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:33 pm

Woodie, what parts of the country do you think we get most of our birds from? I'm always watching weather from Erie, PA, and Toledo, Ohio as I've been told a lot of our migrators come off the great lakes.
Waterfowling is truly an addiction.
WVClaysandBassin
hunter

Postby WOODIE13 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:13 pm

Just depends on the species, I think here we get a lot off the Great Lakes, but have shot surf and white wing scoters here, but you never know. When I was in N. VA, wife got a goose that was banded in Ontario, I shot a reward band mallard that was from Manitoba, one from Alberta and a Can from Twill Lakes in Saskatchewan, so there is no real rhyme or reason to that bird's individual path. Give it a couple days, we should see a plus up.

Went out today scouting, saw a lot more geese, more ducks, mallards are pulsing up nicely.
WOODIE13
hunter

Postby Delduck » Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:55 pm

I should be headed out for opener if I can my sneak boat float worthy again by then...tarp blew off while outta town on business. Looking forward to seeing some pics guys.